Mandatory Evacuations for Outer Banks and Dare County

Mandatory Evacuations for Outer Banks and Dare County

By JuneJ

photo credit: JuneJ // Shutterstock

There is now a mandatory evacuation for residents and visitors of the Outer Banks, Hatteras Island, and Dare County.

Evacuations will begin at Monday at noon on Hatteras Island, and 7 a.m. Tuesday for the rest of Dare County.

Dare County officials said Monday a state of emergency was issued, along with the evacuation order. Evacuations for Hatteras Island — including the villages of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco and Hatteras Village — will begin at 12 p.m. on Monday.

Evacuations for the rest of Dare County will go into effect starting 7 a.m. Tuesday. This will include Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo, Roanoke Island and mainland Dare County.

A mandatory visitor evacuation has been declared for Ocracoke Island, and the Hyde County Board of Commissioners have issued a state of emergency for the entire county.

All NCDOT ferry reservations are canceled, and tolls are waived.

Boarding the ferries will be on a first come first serve basis.

Source: WNCT