Will Smith apologizes after slapping Chris Rock at the 2022 Academy Awards[VIDEOS] Full list of 2022 Oscar winners

Will Smith apologizes after slapping Chris Rock at the 2022 Academy Awards[VIDEOS] Full list of 2022 Oscar winners

Editorial Photo Credit: Kathy Hutchins [Will Smith], Denis Makarenko [Chris Rock]

Shortly after Will Smith shocked America by physically assaulting Chris Rock during this year’s Academy Awards, he won his very first Oscar for Best Actor. His performance as the father of Venus and Serena Williams in the film, ‘King Richard,’ – officially made him an Academy Award-winner.

His fellow nominees in the Best Actor category, included two-time winner Denzel Washington, Benedict Cumberbatch, Javier Bardem and Andrew Garfield.

“I want to apologize to the Academy, I want to apologize to all my fellow nominees. This is a beautiful moment and I’m not crying for winning an award, it’s not about winning an award for me.”

“Art imitates life, I look like the crazy father. Love will make you do crazy things. I know to be able to do what we do you gotta be able to take abuse, you gotta be able to have people talk crazy about you. In this business you gotta have people disrespecting you and you gotta pretend that that’s OK… Denzel Washington said to me a few minutes ago, ‘At your highest moment, be careful, that’s when the devil comes for you.’”

Before Will Smith’s emotional acceptance speech and apology, Chris Rock had been on stage to present the Academy Award for Best Documentary. Rock had jokingly looked over at Jada Pinkett-Smith and asked her if she would want to star in a remake of ‘G.I. Jane’ due to her bald haircut. From what it looked like, Will Smith initially laughed the comment off, but quickly changed his mind and approached Chris on stage and slapped the comedian across the face. As he made his way back to his seat, Will made it clear to Chris to, “Keep my wife’s name out your f*cking mouth!”

See the full list of 2022 Oscar winners below.

Best Picture



Don’t Look Up

Drive My Car


Licorice Pizza

King Richard

Nightmare Alley

The Power of the Dog

West Side Story


Kenneth Branagh, Belfast

Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Drive My Car

Paul Thomas Anderson, Licorice Pizza

WINNER: Jane Campion, The Power of the Dog

Steven Spielberg, West Side Story

Actor in a Leading Role

Javier Bardem, Being the Ricardos

Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power of the Dog

Andrew Garfield, Tick, Tick…Boom!

WINNER: Will Smith, King Richard

Denzel Washington, The Tragedy of Macbeth

ctor in a Supporting Role

Ciaran Hinds, Belfast

WINNER: Troy Kotsur, Coda

Jesse Plemons, The Power of the Dog

J.K. Simmons, Being the Ricardos

Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power of the Dog

Actress in a Leading Role

WINNER: Jessica Chastain, The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Olivia Colman, The Lost Daughter

Penélope Cruz, Parallel Mothers

Nicole Kidman, Being the Ricardos

Kristen Stewart, Spencer

Actress in a Supporting Role

Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter

WINNER: Ariana DeBose, West Side Story

Judi Dench, Belfast

Kirsten Dunst, The Power of the Dog

Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard

Animated Feature Film

WINNER: Encanto



The Mitchells vs. The Machines

Raya and the Last Dragon


WINNER: Greig Fraser, Dune

Dan Laustsen, Nightmare Alley

Ari Wegner, The Power of the Dog

Bruno Delbonnel, The Tragedy of Macbeth

Janusz Kaminski, West Side Story

Costume Design

WINNER: Jenny Beavan, Cruella

Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran, Cyrano

Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan, Dune

Luis Sequeira, Nightmare Alley

Paul Tazewell, West Side Story

Documentary Feature




WINNER: Summer of Soul (…Or When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Writing With Fire

Documentary Short Subject


Lead Me Home

WINNER: The Queen of Basketball

Three Songs for Benazir

When We Were Bullies


Don’t Look Up


King Richard

The Power of the Dog

Tick, Tick…Boom!

International Feature Film

WINNER: Drive My Car


The Hand of God

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom

The Worst Person in the World

Makeup and Hairstyling

Coming 2 America



WINNER: The Eyes of Tammy Faye

House of Gucci

Original Song

“Be Alive,” King Richard

“Dos Oruguitas,” Encanto

“Down to Joy,” Belfast

WINNER: “No Time to Die,” No Time to Die

“Somehow You Do,” Four Good Days

Original Score

Nicholas Britell, Don’t Look Up

WINNER: Hans Zimmer, Dune

Germaine Franco, Encanto

Alberto Iglesias, Parallel Mothers

Jonny Greenwood, The Power of the Dog

Production Design


Nightmare Alley

The Power of the Dog

The Tragedy of Macbeth

West Side Story

Animated Short Film

Affairs of the Art



Robin Robin

WINNER: The Windshield Wiper

Live Action Short Film

Ala Kachuu-Take and Run

The Dress

WINNER: The Long Goodbye

On My Mind

Please Hold


Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather, Niv Adiri, Belfast 

WINNER: Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hempbill, Ron Bartlett, Dune

Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, No Time to Die

Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie, Tara Webb, The Power of the Dog

Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson, Shawn Murphy, West Side Story

Visual Effects


Free Guy

No Time to Die

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Spider-Man: No Way Home

Adapted Screenplay


Drive My Car


The Lost Daughter

The Power of the Dog

Original Screenplay

WINNER: Belfast

Don’t Look Up

King Richard 

Licorice Pizza

The Worst Person in the World

Source: E Online!